Using Bots for Eve Accessibility

Hi ALl,

I am a newbie to EVE online, interested in the potential of using bots to help me play the game as a totally blind user. The default game client is not very accessible with my screen reading software, but it strikes me that with a bit of work it might be possible to make some parts of the experience a little easier to deal with, whether by doing mouse clicking and displaying game info via a command line, or other means.

I’m not all that familiar with what is currently possible, but the biggest limitation on my screen reader at the moment is the fact the game requires me to use OCR to read anything meaningful on the screen. This is, needless to say, difficult to do reliably, and quite tedious.

I wanted to post this topic as a means to explore what might be possible, and ways to begin doing so. At the moment my ship is in the newbie tutorial experience, and I could honestly use a bot to help me click on a wreck in game, as it isn’t showing up in the overview for reasons.

If this kind of thing is possible, I’d appreciate some thoughts on how.

Hello, and welcome, Zachary!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Looking at statements from the games developer CCP, it does not surprise the game client does not help with accessibility for blind users. If there were an interface to get the information in the game client in a well-structured easily-readable way, this would make automation easier. CCP said they see automation happening and consider this a problem. But they also did not fix the game design problems that drive people to use automation. Bad accessibility remains as a cheap way to impede automation.