Mining Bot - warping to a new asteroid belt if a spacific NPC is present

Hello @Viir, hope you are well and healthy,

i found a new rat in the asteroid belts that i would like to avoid by warping out to another asteroid belt

i’m struggling to implement it, i’m still a beginner in ELM.

can you help me?

1 Like

Hello again @Viir ,

i’m trying to patch some code together to make the bot to warp out if a NPC that i specify in the bot settings is present in the belt, before any other action takes place.

i got stuck and can’t do anymore with the knowledge of ELM i have at the moment.

can you please look at the code and give me some pointers

1 Like

Sorry about the unusual delay. There was a large project that started last week and only finished today.

Thank you for sharing your scenario :+1:
As is often the case, here we can copy from an existing project to integrate this new feature.
There is a ratting bot that does something very similar: That bot flies to anomalies for ratting. When there is already another pilot on arrival, it warps away to another anomaly. When it comes to program code, we can look at how it is done there for inspiration.
Your description of the desired behavior looks like you want to do something slightly different than the mentioned ratting bot: Since you are afraid of that rat, you also want to warp out when that other entity arrives later than you.

Another thing to keep in mind is the memory of the presence of said rat in the belt. That ratting bot memorizes that information (when there was another pilot) for every visited anomaly. You might want something analogous (eventually): Depending on how often and how long you expect that rat to stay in the belt, it makes sense to lower the priority of that specific belt when selecting the next mining site randomly (for example, after unloading and undocking)